More stuff to see on my iPod

I got myself an iPod Touch recently courtesy of a generous wife and a very good exchange rate in my favour against the USD. All this means I have a nice 8Gb Touch…

Although at this point I have to put in a slight whinge. A week after I got it, I got an email announcing the 32Gb version, and also a notification of the application pack (including Mail, Stocks, etc…) . Now, being the the UK, I have to pay the UK price unless I convince the infrastructure that I live in the US etc. Given the deal I got, this was fine. My understanding from reading the various posts about it, is that the application had to be released as a priced item rather then an update due to the SOX accountancy practices. I’m not going to claim I understand that.

On a more positive note, I’ve got it hooked up the home and office networks, and I’m very impressed so far. I really like the interface, especially now I’ve picked up on the multi-touch version of the “zoom” functionality in Safari. To use that, instead of tapping to zoom, use your finger and thumb together. Pushing them apart zooms in, and pinching together zooms out. Good for when the webpage you are viewing doesn’t have a sensible tabular layout that can be zoomed in (the BBC News pages are good for this).

Friday also saw the launch of iPlayer on the iPod Touch which means I get to see more then just what YouTube offers me.

Now this makes up for the new BBC Homepage which is driving me up the wall. It’s bad enough I can’t really see the full extent of it on my desktop, but it’s not particularly nice to see on the iPod either. It appears I’m not the only one to notice this either. Andrew has some things to say about it which includes some figures on viewing resolutions.

I’m sure that this contravenes some design guidelines, and a quick google reveals:

Use a liquid layout that lets users adjust the homepage size

From Jakob Nielsen‘s site for his book on this subject. Oddly enough that entry was in 2003, the W3C version which is the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 date from 1999. So here’s the thing, a quick look around finds that a common sense approach to web page content is one that allows the content to flow to shape of the user’s window on it, it has been around for a number of years, and yet it also says that many people don’t do this, why ?

Oh, and for the record, I do not maximise the browser window on my desktop, there are too many other things I need to see.

One response to “More stuff to see on my iPod

  1. Pingback: BBC News stories on the web… unless you have a normal device. « Content Negotiable

Leave a Reply

